VCSEA Awards 

2017 Gail Lynk and Golden Apple Nomination Forms

The 2017 Gail Lynk nomination form can be printed here. 

The 2017 Golden Apple nomination for can be printed here.

Please print the forms necessary, fill them out, and return them along with supporting documentation to

Gail Lynk Administrator of the Year Award 

Each year VCSEA recognizes and celebrates the achievements of a Vermont Special Education Administrator through the presentation of the Gail Lynk Award Administrator of the Year Award. Gail Lynk was a Special Education Administrator for many wears in Addison Northwest Supervisory Union. She had a tremendous, long lasting, positive impact on the students, families and professionals she worked with before her death. This award recognizes exemplary effort and achievement of behalf of Vermont children with special needs, and is presented by VCSEA to a Special Education Administrator who demonstrates the pursuit of excellence in the field of Special Education.

The 2017 Gail Lynk Administrator of the Year Award was presented to Erin Maguire from Chittenden Central Supervisory Union. 

In the picture you can see Erin (left) with Chittenden Central Supervisory Union's Superintendent, Judith DeNova. 

Congratulations, Erin! 

The Golden Apple Award

The Golden Apple Award is presented each spring to one individual and one team who, through professionalism and advocacy for students with disabilities meets the following criteria: 

  • Focuses on student strengths in the development of programs or activities that maximize student's potential, 
  • Actively creates opportunities for students with disabilities to be fully engaged as members of the school community, 
  • Participates and contributes to a collaborative team process, 
  • Demonstrates resourcefulness in meeting student needs, and 
  • Demonstrates compassion and respect to students, family members and all members of the school community. 

The 2017 Individual Award Winner is Bruce Whitman from Leland and Grey High School. 

Congratulations, Bruce!

Bruce is featured center holding his award.  

The 2017 Team Award Winners are Jessica Houck, Becky Smith-McKee, Beth Mitchell, Abby Bennett, Sandi Reardon, and Amanda Anderson from Proctor Elementary School. 

Congratulations, Proctor Elementary School Team! 

In the picture below you can see Sandi Reardon, Abby Bennett, Beth Mitchell, Becky McKee, Jess Houck, and Jo-Anne Unruh. 

Gail Lynk Administrator of the Year Award

Previous Winners

2016: Marisa Duncan-Holley, Windham Southeast SU

2015: Meagan Roy, Chittenden South SU

2014: Beth Hemingway, Grand Isle SU

2013: Judith Eklund, Caledonia Central SU

2012: Eloise McGarry, Rutland City SD

2011: Joanne LeBlanc, Orleans Southwest SU

2010: Kristin Benway, Addison-Rutland SU

2009: Pamela Reed, Rutland High School

2008: Karen Woolsey, Windsor Northwest SU

2007: Nancy Thomas, Washington Central SU

2006: Steve Kinney, Orange Southwest SU

2005: Susan Cano, Lamoille North SU

2004: Jeanne Collins, Burlington SD

2003: Carlene Bellamy, Washington Northeast SU

2002: Kathleen Buck, Southwest VT SU

2001: Linda Chaim, Franklin Northwest SU

2000: Adrienne Fischer, Franklin West SU

1999: Diane Treadway, Addison Northeast SU

1998: Jo-Anne Unruh, Hartford SD

1997: Linda Redmond, Barre Town

1996: Joyce Duback, Springfield SD

1995: Michelle LaRouche, Rutland Northeast SU

1994: Vicki Hornus, Burlington SD

1993: Terry Hurlbert, Essex North SU

1992: Janice Keffer, Milton SD

1991: Daniel Kucij, Franklin Central SU

1990: Barbara Rocray, Windham Southeast SU  

Golden Apple Award

Previous Winners


 Individual Winners

2016: Heidi Mosher, Franklin Northwest Supervisory Union

2015: Jessica Kuzmich, Manchester Elementary School

2014: Linell Vilaseca, Champlain Valley Union High Shool

Team Winners

2016: The Westford Middle School Team 

Dave Goss, Lee Lichtenstein, Sally Conant, Chris CichoskiKelly, Kristy Pigeon, Sheila Thurston, and Amy Gates

2015: The North Country Academy Team

Andrew Bouchard, Anita Mayhew, Cheryl Bugbee, Colleen Fagan, Chris Murphy, Jessica Puckett, Meg Norman, Pam Wade, Ryan Anderson, Rachel Maxwell, Robyn Midi, Richard Szymanski, & Rob Wing

2014: The Riverside Middle School Team

Darlene Petke, Val Gasco, Jeff Vandivere, Franco Chiapperini, Tom Green, Mary Ellen Schofield & Meredith Jez

2013: The Cambridge Elementary School 

Dianne Carlino-Desroches, Michelle Piche, Paulette Desell-Lund

The Vermont Council of Special Education Administrators

Montpelier, Vermont 05602